HARLEY SHOP TALK

Often Imitated, Never Duplicated

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Battery, restarting
fatbob65
post Jun 16 2015, 07:27 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-June 15
Member No.: 7,499
BIKE: FXSTDI Softail Deuce EFI
YEAR: 2006
MILES: 2700



I HAVE A '06 Deuce it starts but when turned off and restarting it turns over slow and weak. Battery reads over 12 volts while sitting and 14+ when running. Wtf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
screwball
post Jun 16 2015, 07:44 PM
Post #2



Group Icon

Group: BOTM Winner's Circle
Posts: 13,898
Joined: 14-June 05
From: Santa Clarita, SoCal & Bullhead City, Az. OFFICIAL 2nd OLDEST MEMBER
Member No.: 306
BIKE: F-series
YEAR: 2015
MILES: TRIKE
BIKE: F-series



QUOTE(fatbob65 @ Jun 16 2015, 05:27 PM) *
I HAVE A '06 Deuce it starts but when turned off and restarting it turns over slow and weak. Battery reads over 12 volts while sitting and 14+ when running. Wtf





IF it is the original battery it is kind of old, time for a change. Actually, if it is the second battery, depending on when it was changed, it could be kind of old too. Most battery places have a load tester that will give your the cranking amps available. That would be the true test. 14 volts running is the alternator charging. Good Luck






Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatbob65
post Jun 16 2015, 08:58 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 16-June 15
Member No.: 7,499
BIKE: FXSTDI Softail Deuce EFI
YEAR: 2006
MILES: 2700



Thanks I had a similar problem with my Kenworth. Will I need to polorize anything once changed like old school bikes?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OakR8R
post Jun 16 2015, 09:08 PM
Post #4



Group Icon

Group: BOTM Winner's Circle
Posts: 2,926
Joined: 27-April 05
From: Raider fan in Bronco country
Member No.: 2
BIKE: FLHT Electra Glide Standard
YEAR: 2009
MILES: 21,000



Nope
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wholehog
post Jun 17 2015, 02:53 PM
Post #5



Group Icon

Group: BOTM Winner's Circle
Posts: 9,940
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Virginia
Member No.: 4



QUOTE(fatbob65 @ Jun 16 2015, 09:58 PM) *
Thanks I had a similar problem with my Kenworth. Will I need to polorize anything once changed like old school bikes?

you have to polarize a generator (DC output) not an alternator (AC output rectified)....


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th June 2017 - 10:35 AM
Harley Shop Talk Established 05/05/05
Painting By: Dave Barnhouse / Hadley House Publishing, All Rights Reserved
HARLEY SHOP TALK IS NOT AFFILIATED WITH HARLEY-DAVIDSON®, INC.
HARLEY SHOP TALK: IF WE AIN'T TALKIN' HARLEYS, WE'RE TALKIN' $#*%!