HARLEY SHOP TALK

Often Imitated, Never Duplicated

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> dyna handlebar controls/no switches
lclc49
post Nov 5 2012, 06:56 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 5-November 12
Member No.: 6,458
BIKE: FXD Dyna Super Glide
YEAR: 2004
MILES: 50 k +



I have an 04 dyna fxd. I have customized it some, I want to take the switch housings off the hand controls so I can cut the handlebars down to get my grip closer. I don't use turn signal (they are not hooked up) I rarely use my horn, and I have found that just using my straight head light works just as good as hi-beams. The only thing I see I need is on & starter switch. My question is where can I find controls? anyone, got any Ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ordy
post Nov 28 2012, 05:21 PM
Post #2



Group Icon

Group: BOTM Winner's Circle
Posts: 13,629
Joined: 5-May 05
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 24
BIKE: FLHTI Electra Glide Standard EFI
YEAR: 2006
MILES: 22,400
BIKE: FLHTI Electra Glide Standard EFI
YEAR: 2006
MILES: 22,400



QUOTE(lclc49 @ Nov 5 2012, 06:56 PM) *
I have an 04 dyna fxd. I have customized it some, I want to take the switch housings off the hand controls so I can cut the handlebars down to get my grip closer. I don't use turn signal (they are not hooked up) I rarely use my horn, and I have found that just using my straight head light works just as good as hi-beams. The only thing I see I need is on & starter switch. My question is where can I find controls? anyone, got any Ideas?

JPcycles.com

Welcome...post up a pic of your ride...thanks
Ride safe
Ordy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deuce04
post Nov 29 2012, 08:42 AM
Post #3



Group Icon

Group: BOTM Winner's Circle
Posts: 4,802
Joined: 5-May 05
From: CT
Member No.: 21
BIKE: FXSTDI Softail Deuce EFI
YEAR: 2004
MILES: 10
BIKE: FXSTDI Softail Deuce EFI



I just cant believe people think we actually talk about motorcycles. (IMG:http://www.harleyshoptalk.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/shocking.gif)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Thumper34
post Apr 30 2013, 08:32 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 30-April 13
From: Iowa
Member No.: 6,660
BIKE: FXD Dyna Super Glide
YEAR: 2002
MILES: 45,000



I did that with a shovel I had. I drilled a hole in the diamond plate on my tank and ran a switch there. Worked pretty good and didn't look too bad. Doing that aught to simplify finding controls that will work for what ya want.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th August 2017 - 06:44 PM
Harley Shop Talk Established 05/05/05
Painting By: Dave Barnhouse / Hadley House Publishing, All Rights Reserved
HARLEY SHOP TALK IS NOT AFFILIATED WITH HARLEY-DAVIDSON®, INC.
HARLEY SHOP TALK: IF WE AIN'T TALKIN' HARLEYS, WE'RE TALKIN' $#*%!