Group Icon

Group: BOTM Winner's Circle
Member No.: 224
AKA:Dragon Slayer
BIKE: FLTRI Road Glide EFI
YEAR: 2005
MILES: 47,000 +

Hey Brush-

I was wondering what tips you'd offer for someone buying the tools to do paint work? I'm making plans to finally create the scheme I've been envisioning for the past 6 years; but I don't want to spend my money foolishly. I am planning to purchase a decent compressor setup for some air tool and paint gun use. What should I be looking for, or looking to avoid in my air supply?

Next question I had was in regards to the paint gun. I believe the HVLP guns are supposed to be superior to the standard can-below guns; but don't really know. Should I be buying an air brush instead of paint gun since motorcycle parts are not real big? I noticed in looking at HVLP guns that they list different spray aperture diameters like .8mm-1.4mm. Do you have a recommendation in that regard?

I have done some paint work in the past to bicycles and the inner fairing of my electra glide which came out very nice. I've learned prep work with lots of wet sanding is the key to a nice finish and I was taught by another painter to keep the spray application at 90* angles to the work surface. You do really nice work; so I'm open to any suggestions you may be able to provide...Thanks!!

Clay
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Brush
post Aug 29 2017, 08:28 PM
Post #2

Group: Members
Member No.: 7,109
BIKE: FLHT Electra Glide Standard
YEAR: 2003
MILES: 56000